Strange procedure to start MAMP

All MAMP discussions around troubleshooting and anything related to MAMP. Be as detailed as possible here when posting an issue.
Post Reply
conticreative
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:35 pm

Strange procedure to start MAMP

Post by conticreative »

I reinstalled MAMP Pro recently and this is what happens:

1) Launch MAMP and I get an error that the "servers could not be started"
2) In the "General" tab, besides IP Address there is a * and two IP addresses. * is selected.
3) If I choose any of the two IP addresses and restart MAMP, then everything works fine but...
4) The next time I restart MAMP, that IP address I chose (out of two) will be selected, but I get the same error that "services could not be started.
5) At this point, if I choose the other IP{ address or the [*] and restart, MAMP works fine, until the next restart where I have to do it all over again.

By now, I have tried every combo I could. Whatever is selected at the beginning of the session prevents MAMP from starting.
Whatever I choose instead in the drop down, allows MAMP to work flawlessly.

Either my installation of MAMP was designed with the sole purpose to drive me nuts or I am going to start believing in magic.

Thank you.
mampsupportmod
Site Admin
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:06 am

Re: Strange procedure to start MAMP

Post by mampsupportmod »

conticreative wrote: Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:43 pm I reinstalled MAMP Pro recently and this is what happens:

1) Launch MAMP and I get an error that the "servers could not be started"
2) In the "General" tab, besides IP Address there is a * and two IP addresses. * is selected.
3) If I choose any of the two IP addresses and restart MAMP, then everything works fine but...
4) The next time I restart MAMP, that IP address I chose (out of two) will be selected, but I get the same error that "services could not be started.
5) At this point, if I choose the other IP{ address or the [*] and restart, MAMP works fine, until the next restart where I have to do it all over again.

By now, I have tried every combo I could. Whatever is selected at the beginning of the session prevents MAMP from starting.
Whatever I choose instead in the drop down, allows MAMP to work flawlessly.

Either my installation of MAMP was designed with the sole purpose to drive me nuts or I am going to start believing in magic.

Thank you.

MAMP or MAMP Pro? macOS or Windows?
conticreative
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:35 pm

Re: Strange procedure to start MAMP

Post by conticreative »

Sorry, Mamp Pro on Windows.
Post Reply